Vegan Manicures

23 Mar

Priti NYC Nail Products 2

Probably the only really girly thing I like to go do is get a mani-pedi.  I always feel way more put together when my nails are done.  It’s weird.  Otherwise I’m pretty much a total tomboy.  My clothes need to feel like pajamas and my makeup and hair can’t take longer than five minutes.

Even before going vegan, it’s always concerned me how many chemicals are used in nail care products.  Most all the self-care products I use are organic and vegan.  Though there are a few salons in NYC that offer organic vegan manicures, like the Green Spa, they’re a bit out of the way for me to make it a normal occurence.  So instead over the past several months I’ve been searching for eco-friendly vegan nail products I could use at home to do my mani-pedis myself.

I was so excited to see the Time Out New York Vegan Style Guide listed a new bath and body shop in my neighborhood called Skinny Skinny.  After checking out their website, I saw they stock the full line of Priti NYC nail products.  I could get not only vegan, chemical free nail polish but also nail polish remover!  Score!

This past weekend while walking the dog with my hubby we passed the store and I ran in quick to pick up a few things.  I got two polish colors.  I allowed my husband to pick out one he’d like to see me wear (and he picked bright, florescent neon pink), and I picked out silver.  Ever since seeing Andy’s silver manicure on her blog this past week I’ve been obsessed with it.  I also picked up Priti NYC’s soy based polish remover.

IMG_0973

Sunday night I went ahead and gave myself my first mani-pedi in ages.  I was beyond happy with the results as well as the quality of these awesome, eco and vegan friendly nail products.  They were super easy to use and apply and I didn’t even really need a base or top coat.

I’m totally planninng on stocking up on a variety of their polishes so I can change up my manicure look more often.  What are your favorite nail colors for spring?  Any suggestions on colors for me to pick up?

6 Responses to “Vegan Manicures”

  1. germanymarie March 24, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    screw spring, my faves are ALWAYS dark, deep purple, red and blue. And the Deborah Lippman line, which doesn’t test on animals. I’ve got Across the Universe and Bad Romance in rotation right now. 😀

    You’ve reminded me that I need to get non-animal tested (read: vegan, most likely) nail polish remover. Sigh. Nivea?

    • Corrie March 25, 2011 at 2:11 am #

      I wasn’t aware Nivea is vegan though they very well may be. It took me forever to find products here locally being most all standard drug store brand stuff is the US is tested on animals. Boo.

  2. Nikki @ The Tolerant Vegan July 7, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    I was painting my nails this past weekend, dying from the fumes and I thought there MUST be a better way! I’m so glad I just found this post. Time to stock up!

    • Corrie July 7, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

      Another thing I’ve tried recently is gel manicures. You get them at a nail salon, and many gel brands are accidentally vegan. I got one 3 weeks ago and it looks exactly the same as when I got it!

  3. nikki January 10, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    Wink Eco Beauty Bar offers vegan manicures! You just have to make sure you choose Sparitual polish, and not the OPI.

    • Corrie January 10, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

      I’ll have to check them out! Thanks for the info!

Leave a Reply

