What I Learned During the Clean Detox

19 Mar

No more bread for me! {image source: http://www.seriouseats.com}

After being done with the program for about a two weeks now, I’ve had some time to really think about what was good and what sucked about the Clean Detox Program

The Good:

  • I lost around 10 pounds.
  • My skin’s the clearest it’s been in like, forever.
  • I no longer had a “poof” on my lower abdomen.  I had an almost 6 pack.  It was awesome.
  • I no longer felt the need to needlessly snack or overeat.  Though I’m a pretty healthy eater, doing this program really made me realize exactly how little food our bodies really need to operate.   Also, when I do snack I find myself craving what I had snacked on during the program.  Almonds in particular.
  • Morning smoothies are awesome.  They keep me going energy wise through lunch no problem without the aid of caffeine.  They’re also easy to make and portable being I have to dart out in a rush to work every morning.
  • I got used to drinking lots of water.  It’s a great habit to get into.  I now feel weird leaving the house without my water bottle.

The Sucky:

  • The massive, horrendous headache you get within the first few days when the toxins start to leave your system.
  • The crankiness and irritability you experience for a few days on the program. 
  • Trying to train for a half marathon while sustaining your body on minimal calories.  Next time I do this program I’m not going to train for any sort of race during it.
  • Watching TV in the evening and every commercial being for some kind of fast food and you had your last meal of the evening several hours prior.  Talk about difficult to fight cravings.  We eventually stopped watching TV in the evening because of this.
  • You have to come off this program gradually.  We didn’t and ate a bunch of crap our first week off of it and felt like crap.  I guess in general it’s easy to say you feel how you eat.  If you eat crap you feel like crap.
  • Apparently after introducing bread and pasta back into my diet, I’ve learned i get tremendously bloated after eating them.  I guess I’m intolerant to them.  Both the hubby and I agree we’re going to really work to limit bread and pasta in our diet.

All in all both the hubby and I agree we’re going to make doing this cleanse part of our annual routine.  The end benefits far outweigh any of the headaches, crankiness and fatigue we encountered during it.  We’ve never felt better.  After our first week off the program and falling off the wagon so badly, we’ve actually decided we’re going to do another week on the cleanse to get back on track and then gradually wean ourselves off of it the way you are supposed to.

Have you done Clean or another detox program?  Was your experience similar to mine?  I’d love to hear about it so either comment or email me!

3 Responses to “What I Learned During the Clean Detox”

  1. Marnie March 29, 2011 at 5:57 am #

    Hi Corrie,

    My name is Marnie. I just began the clean detox yesterday and I feel like shit. My head hurts so bad. I could barely sleep last night because of the headache. My husband also had it way worse than me, his was a full on migraine, so he caved in and ate a little sandwich so he could take some migraine pills and sleep. Poor guy. My headache has been more of a strong but dull pain that is almost constant for about the last 24 hours. I also have waves of nausea. Reading your blog gave me a lot of hope, I really need to know that this is normal and that it gets better! I’m going to hang in there. Did you do the full 3 weeks? Thanks for the tip taking the weaning off period seriously, I will really try to do that. Well, thanks for the great info. Take care, Marnie (in Manila)

    • Corrie March 29, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

      Hi Marnie!

      Whatever you do, try to ride it out! The headaches are the worst the first few days but do subside shortly after. Just try to get a lot of sleep, I know that helped me. One thing I can tell you is after both my husband and I had our headaches, we felt AMAZING the week or so after! We’d have a few bouts of crankiness but all in all we had tons of energy and felt fantastic.

      Yes, we did do the full three weeks and I recaped each week on this blog.

      Week One

      Week Two

      Week Three

      Program Recap

      Please feel free to email me with questions any time. In the meantime best of luck with your detox and stick with it! You’ll be glad you did! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011 Year in Review « Brooklyn Bliss - December 31, 2011

    […] February, Jim and I completed our first detox cleanse, which was something I’ve always wanted to try. We enjoyed it so much, we’re planning […]

Leave a Reply

