NYC Vegetarian Food Festival

5 Mar

NYC Vegetarian Food Festival

This past weekend, Jim and I hit up the NYC Vegetarian Food Festival.  I had tried to go last year with a friend, but the line to get in was over 2 hours long and wrapped around the block!  I had almost dismissed going again this year, until I saw a Living Social deal for VIP entry tickets on the cheap, so I grabbed them.  This time around when we arrived there was still a crazy line, but it didn’t matter because the VIP entry line had no one on it, so we got right in.

NYC Vegetarian Food Festival

NYC Vegetarian Food Festival

NYC Vegetarian Food Festival

NYC Vegetarian Food Festival

NYC Vegetarian Food Festival

NYC Vegetarian Food Festival

NYC Vegetarian Food Festival

NYC Vegetarian Food Festival

NYC Vegetarian Food Festival

All in all, there was no shortage of tasty bites of great vegan and vegetarian food (though mostly vegan).  They even had vegan marshmallows and caviar! I do have to say, I had come that day really expecting to stuff my face, but with the small tastes most of the vendors gave, I still left a bit hungry.  You could get larger plates of food, but you had to cough up anywhere from $3-$5, which kind of put me off considering I had spent money on a $30 VIP entry ticket expecting to eat all day.  It’s a small gripe, I still had a fantastic time and sampled some amazing food.

That aside, the event had some great speakers and demos going on.  There were three separate stages, one of which was a speaker stage, another for musical acts, and a third for cooking demos.  My friend Ashley who works for Peta gave a great presentation on the best ways to approach vegan advocacy.

NYC Vegetarian Food Festival

The festival was a great way to spend the afternoon.  We actually had two-day passes, but since the L train wasn’t running to the city this weekend we decided on just attending the one day.

Did anyone else attend this year?  How did you like it?

5 Responses to “NYC Vegetarian Food Festival”

  1. jesse.anne.o March 6, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    I went last year (we sort of snuck in with someone we volunteered for the Dunwell Donut doughnut eating contest) but skipped this year. The agency I work for actually had a table this year and there were a lot of people I’d have been happy to support but I just didn’t have it in me (Sat was the only day I had off all weekend and I only slept 4 hours Fri night and had an almost 12 hour day on Fri.).

    I’m glad you were able to make it!

  2. Bex March 7, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    How do they make vegan caviar? Love the hat.

    • Corrie March 9, 2012 at 7:50 am #

      Thanks for the hat compliments! I have no idea how they make the vegan caviar, but it tasted really similar to what I remember the real thing tasting like. It was made of seaweed. It was really yummy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Le Pain Quitoden « Brooklyn Bliss - March 6, 2012

    […] past Saturday prior to heading over to the NYC Vegetarian Food Festival, Jim and I met up with some of his relatives in town visiting at one of their locations mid-town, […]

  2. Interview / Compassion Couture « Brooklyn Bliss - April 11, 2012

    […] at a better time.  I had just become familiar with their company after visiting their booth at the Vegetarian Food Festival, and I was super impressed with their selection so I remembered who they were immediately upon […]

Leave a comment