Pinning / Curly Bobs

2 Apr

It seems just about every single year once it gets nice out, I have this urge to chop off all of my hair. By the end of winter, I’m totally over having to blow-dry my hair for close to 30 minutes because I have so much of it. While I love my current really long length, it’s now becoming impracticable for me to keep up with. I also think it’s kind of boring. I usually like a little edge to my haircuts and the current one just isn’t doing it for me anymore. Walking the streets of NYC there are tons of girls with long loose curls like mine.

When I did my last big chop back in 2009, the shorter curls were ridiculously easy for me to manage. It was literally wash and go. I’d like to get back to that for this summer considering how active I’ve been lately.

Last year at this time I was totally macking on Keri Hilson’s bob below, but as of recent I also love the soft, inverted bob that Marion Cotillard wears.  So I’m kind of undecided what version I want to do, or how short I want to go yet (at or below the chin).  I also haven’t decided yet if I want to stay a red head, dye it back to my natural brunette, or even maybe an ombre brunette.  All I know is I want all my hair gone and for my hair routine to only take 10 minutes again.

Here’s some of my favorite inspiration images I’ve been pinning lately to try to come up with some ideas of what to do.  My next hair appointment is in less than two weeks, so I better hurry up and make up my mind!

So what do you think?  Should I cut it all off?  Dye it?  Both?  I’d love to hear your suggestions!

20 Responses to “Pinning / Curly Bobs”

  1. Joy Beth Cosby April 2, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

    Corrie, I LOVE your blog and I think you are beautiful. I’ve been going through the same thing with my hair. It’s just now starting to grow back out and some days I love it long, but most of the time, I just want to take scissors to my own hair. Mine is naturally curly as well, so your pictures are inspiring me! I think you should definitely cut and dye it! There’s nothing like a new ‘do to make a girl feel like a brand new woman. 🙂

    • Corrie April 2, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

      You are so sweet, thank you! You’re totally on point about a fresh haircut making you feel like a brand new woman. I think that’s what I’m needing right now! So ready for spring and a new look!

  2. greentrailsandteapottales April 2, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

    I think it would look great short too! I had the urge to cut it really really short but then I thought I could do something I did in 2011 again: first let my hair grow, to about your hair’s length now, and then have it cut how short I wanted it and sell it!! 🙂 last time I did it because I was skint and really needed the money but you can donate it to charities too 🙂

    • Corrie April 2, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

      I was thinking about donating my hair to a charity, but the few I had read about require your hair to not be dyed or chemically treated. Are there any that don’t have that requirement? I’d totally donate my ponytail granted I do decide to chop it off (which I’m leaning towards).

      • greentrailsandteapottales April 3, 2013 at 2:11 am #

        Oh, I’m not sure about any charities that do but I know the website I used to sell my hair accepted any type of hair, including treated and dyed…

      • Corrie April 3, 2013 at 5:30 am #

        That’s pretty cool. What website did you sell your locks to?

      • greentrailsandteapottales April 3, 2013 at 5:46 am #

        It’s a US site called OnlineHairAffair, they’ve just revamped it 🙂

      • Corrie April 3, 2013 at 8:50 am #

        Awesome! I’ll check it out. I just looked at Locks of Love and it looks like they take colored hair. Another option is to sell it and then to donate the cash to a charity of my choice, so I have lots of options. Thanks for the idea!

      • greentrailsandteapottales April 3, 2013 at 9:22 am #

        Yes that’s a cool idea too!! 🙂

  3. wanderingmuses31 April 2, 2013 at 5:49 pm #

    So tempted…I think I’m going for it. Thanks for this.

    • Corrie April 2, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

      Yay! You too? Glad I’m not the only one. 🙂

  4. SansSacrifice April 2, 2013 at 11:59 pm #

    Go for it!!! I totally do this every couple of years – except I usually do it on a whim. My husband never knows what to expect when I come home from the salon;) Fun to switch it up every now and again. And what better time than spring?

    • Corrie April 3, 2013 at 5:29 am #

      Poor Jim never knows what I’ll come home with after a hair appointment either. I usually change my hair every 3 months or so. In the past 6 months I’ve come home with bright red dip dye an then again later all red. It’s always a surprise!

  5. germanymarie April 3, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    I’m totally in the same place. LOVE my hair long, but SO tired of winter hair (and this ridiculous weather, when will it ever really be spring???) and ready for a change!! I might not go THAT short but was thinking of getting it back to my shoulders.

    • Corrie April 3, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

      Nice! I can’t wait to see it. As of right now it’s looking like I will definitely have a bob by the time you come to visit in May. Yay! So excited!

  6. Rachel April 3, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

    I recently had this exact same thought process. I chopped my long locks to donate to locks of love for a loose curly long bob. I liked it a lot and it was a wonderful change, especially in the prepping department because it was so easy to prepare. I stuck to a longer bob because I have always had long hair and wasn’t ready for a big short bob commitment. You’ve done this before so I say go for the shorter one, i’m loving the ombre brown and blonde pic in the middle. That was one of the photos I used to go off of as well! Good luck, and have fun with with it!

    • Corrie April 3, 2013 at 10:04 pm #

      I’m thinking ill probably go slightly below chin length with it curly so then if I blow it out slightly its a little longer. It should be really versatile and quick for me to style. I love that ombré pick too! I may have to dye my hair back to my natural color and then ombré again at my next appointment due to time restrictions, but we’ll see. Thanks for the feedback and suggestions!!

  7. Amanda Marie April 4, 2013 at 10:47 am #

    I have naturally curly hair that is down to my butt, and I am always getting compliments about how everyone “wishes they had my hair” and my response is always, “yeah well, it’s not easy to take care of!”

    I can’t brush it unless it is wet because it is sooo thick that it will turn into an afro, but yet I can’t wash it every single day or it gets dry. So I spend my mornings wetting it, brushing it out, and putting products in it to keep the frizz down. It is so long that if I have it in a ponytail for too long I get a horrible headache. Don’t get me wrong, I love it the way it looks, but I want something new.When I thought of cutting it to a bob, I always thought I would have to straighten it because the curls would be too thick and poofy, but now I am wondering? Hmmm, I don’t know, I think I am just too scared to cut it all off! I feel like I shouldn’t since so many people wish they had long curls. I have a hair appointment tomorrow and I have already cancelled two appointments! Ah!

    Your hair is very pretty, I first saw the red dip dye and loved it. I was thinking about putting red on the underlayer of my hair. I like the last few pictures. When you blowdry your hair doesn’t it get poofy? What products do you use?

    <3Amanda
    Lexington, KY

    • Corrie April 4, 2013 at 11:06 am #

      Hi Amanda! Sounds like you and are are in the same place regarding our curls. It’s a lot of maintenance when you have a lot of hair and a lot of curls! Because of the products I use and way my long-time stylist taught me to care for my curls, they don’t get poofy or frizzy at all. In fact I actually wish my hair was bigger at times! When my hair gets long it weighs more and I don’t have the same volume I had with short hair.

      I currently use Deva Curl products (which are vegan) and dry my hair with a diffuser. All my hair products are put on in the shower while my hair is soaking wet. The key thing I learned with gels and curl creams is after your hair is fully dry to “scrunch the crunch” out. That makes your curls nice and defined and not frizzy.

      What I’ll try to do in the next few weeks is put together a tutorial post on how I care for my curls. Hopefully that will help.

      Thanks and enjoy your haircut and new look!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spring Has Sprung | Brooklyn Bliss - April 16, 2013

    […] big hair appointment is tomorrow, and I have to say looking at the photo below of my curls I’m somewhat nervous to […]

Leave a Reply

