Chasing the Northern Lights

12 Oct


image credit: www.universetoday.com

Yesterday, I confirmed details to go on a quick weekend “girls” vacation in November with the women in my family to Iceland.  We’re specifically going over in attempt to see the northern lights, so fingers crossed it’s cold enough when we visit to see them!

The ladies all went last year (I couldn’t make it) and they enjoyed it so much they planned another one for this year.  There will be a lot of spa time, dining, sight-seeing, and best of all those pretty lights in the sky.  It should be a pleasant break from work just prior to the craziness of the holiday season.

While I’m excited to be going, I’m somewhat petrified on what I’m going to eat over there.  I have zero knowledge of nordic food, nevermind vegan nordic options (if they even exist!).  If you’re a vegan and you’ve been to Iceland, please send me your recommendations!  I’d really appreciate any information anyone can send me.

I’m also looking for any feedback and information on what to pack, especially while visiting in November.  If you’ve been to Iceland and have any tips, let me know!

3 Responses to “Chasing the Northern Lights”

  1. bryan October 12, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    I’m vegan and went to Iceland last year. The Fish Market was pretty good. I had spring rolls and veg sushi that was not listed on the menu.

    • Corrie October 15, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

      Thanks Bryan! I’ll add that place to my list of places to try out while there.

  2. quinngoldie October 12, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

    I’ve heard Iceland is absolutely wonderful. Sorry I can’t help out with the food options!

Leave a comment