12 Dates of Christmas / Date 4

22 Dec

12 Dates of Christmas Screen Printing Class

Jim and I a while back had purchased some Living Social coupons for a screen printing class at Gowanus Print Labs.  I’m horrible in that I never use my “groupons”, so considering these were a tad bit more expensive, we scheduled our class WAY in advance.  In hindsight, I’m really glad we scheduled it for the holiday season because it was such a fun activity to do together.

12 Dates of Christmas Screen Printing Class

Gowanus Print Labs is a beautiful print studio in you guessed it, the Gowanus neighborhood of Brooklyn. Housed in an industrial area, I was pleasantly surprised at how large, bright and clean it was.  They also had some sick graffiti throughout the studio.

12 Dates of Christmas Screen Printing Class

12 Dates of Christmas Screen Printing Class

12 Dates of Christmas Screen Printing Class

The class starts off with you either drawing or printing out your acetate stencil.  Jim and I both brought digital files to play with, and they printed it out for us on the clear plastic acetate.  From there, they showed us how to make a photo emulsion stencil, which is what we’d use to actually print.

12 Dates of Christmas Screen Printing Class

12 Dates of Christmas Screen Printing Class

12 Dates of Christmas Screen Printing Class

12 Dates of Christmas Screen Printing Class

12 Dates of Christmas Screen Printing Class

12 Dates of Christmas Screen Printing Class

They had hundreds of colors for us to choose from to print with, or we could mix our own.  We also had the option to print one tee-shirt, or a few art prints.  I opted for the tee with a dark gray ink, and Jim opted for the paper with neon yellow ink.

12 Dates of Christmas Screen Printing Class

Look I learned how to silk screen!!

Here’s my finished product!  I’m actually going to take this tee-shirt and cut it up and re-style it into a rock and roll style shirt.  It came out awesome!

I can’t speak for Jim, but I totally fell in love with screen printing.  Though I went to art school, print making was the one class I never took but always wanted to.  Knowing now there are several studios you can rent time at to screen print makes my mind swirl with all sorts of ideas for tee-shirt and poster projects.  I can’t wait to print more!

Have you ever screen printed or taken a creative class with your significant other?

3 Responses to “12 Dates of Christmas / Date 4”

  1. Bex December 22, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    You look so cute in the picture!

    • Corrie December 23, 2011 at 8:23 am #

      Thanks Bex! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011 Year in Review « Brooklyn Bliss - December 31, 2011

    […] learn so many new things. From the Armory Show, to Eagle Street Rooftop Farm and most recently a screen printing class at Gowanus Print Lab, I explored so many new things. 2011 was not a couch potato year for […]

Leave a Reply

