We All Start Somewhere

16 Nov

I love discovering new blogs. I actually found a few new ones to add to my Google Reader this week.

One of my favorite things to do when I find a new blog I really, really like and that is very well done is to look at their very first post. It’s always a positive reminder to me that all bloggers have to start somewhere, and that many of the bloggers we follow and for lack of a better word, idolize, all got their start the exact same way the rest of us did. It’s funny how many of them had tiny site images, somewhat forgettable outfit posts, and posted more re-posted content than original content.

Here are some screenshots (and links to the posts) of some of my favorite bloggers.  For example purposes, these are bloggers who’s sites I know get a ton of traffic.  I follow bloggers of all sorts so these are just a sampling of who I know are some of the most popular ones for the fashion/personal style circuit.

Kendi Everyday- on Nov 15th 2011

Kendi Everyday's first post

The Glamourai- on November 15th 2011

The Glamourai's first post

What I Wore- on November 16th, 2011

What I Wore's first post

Cupcakes and Cashmere- on 11.14.11

Cupcakes and Cashmere's first post

Gala Darling- on November 16th, 2011

Gala Darling's first post

Refinery29 also did a great feature on some other well known fashion blogger’s first posts. You can find them here.

5 Responses to “We All Start Somewhere”

  1. Just Be. November 16, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    How interesting! I’ve never thought to do that. It is important to remember that everyone had to start somewhere! Great post.

    http://cobblestonestreets.wordpress.com/

    • Corrie November 16, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

      Thank you! I’ve been wanting to write about this habit of mine for a while now and am glad I finally got around to it. 🙂

  2. Bex November 17, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    I need to work on my outfit pictures. A better camera and place.

  3. Alexia Cameron November 22, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    What a great post, I have to admit I do the exact same thing! I love looking back to blogs I frequent to see their first posts. Like you said, we all start somewhere. Being a relatively new blog this tactic has been very comforting!

    http://hauteamericana.com/

  4. steph November 23, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    Great post — and lovely reminder 😉 I had a look at my first post and it was way before I had a fashion blog in 2001..

Leave a Reply

