Prioritizing Priorities

25 Oct

 

This past weekend I kinda had an epiphany. I’ve been spending way too much time…

  • At work.
  • Watching TV. ‘Nuf said.
  • On my iPad mindlessly browsing media.  ‘Nuf said.
  • On this blog. After posting my proposed “posting schedule”, I’ve been devoting way to much time attempting to keep to it.
  • Doing nothing to better myself and my family.

All in all, each thing I’ve been spending too much time on in the past served an important purpose. Work is self explanatory, one has to make money to live. Watching TV was a much needed escape from the stress of work, though there are of course other ways I can de-stress which are much more productive, like reading or meditating .

This blog so far has served an important purpose in helping me find my identity. By documenting my choices in what I wear, how I put it together, etc. and seeing my progress visually has given me confidence which has carried into other areas of my life where I am now more successful than I was previously. I’m better off career wise, I’ve made some fantastic friends and increased my social circle, and I’m better handling myself in stressful situations with people I love. All because I’m more confident, and I do attribute my blog for helping me with that.

That said, while it’s fun I can’t allow my blog to identify me. Instead I need to create boundaries so the blog is instead a reflection of me. So, with that said, forget the posting schedule. I’m going to post what I want, when I want to. If it’s an outfit post, great. If it’s a journal recap of an experience I don’t want to forget, that’s great too. I need to reclaim my mindset that this space is for me, and not necessarily to please my readers. I’m sure all my readers can relate to and understand this.

I’ve also due to the stress of my job have really been slacking on the home front. There are so many projects around the apartment that Jim and I have discussed tackling which we’ve been putting off because I just haven’t been really present take them on. These are all things that will make both our lives better, which is why it’s important for me to get off my ass and prioritize it.

So with all that in mind, here are my list of new prioritized priorities.

  • Finally set up a budget and financial plan and stick with it.
  • Clear out all the clutter in my home. A project Jim and I have been wanting to tackle, but haven’t gotten around to.
  • Get in the best shape and be as healthy as I can possibly be.
  • Find other ways to de-stress. Take more yoga, meditate or read. All things I love to do but never find time for.
  • Do something on my life list I’ve been putting off forever. Like getting my tattoo.
  • Do something to help animals. Like a fundraiser or volunteering or something. I’m a vegan I should act like one.
  • Have more life experiences, as opposed to watching others experiences via media (TV, social media, etc).
5 Responses to “Prioritizing Priorities”

  1. Nikki October 25, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    AWESOME POST! I totally agree. Post what you want, when you want. Do what makes you happy, healthy and fulfilled. You rock.

    • Corrie October 25, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

      Thanks Nikki! Sometimes all it takes is taking a step back to put things back in perspective. 🙂

  2. supergenericgirl October 25, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    This is amazing. It’s exactly how I feel. It’s almost like you’ve just given me a kick in the butt and told me to go sort out my priorities as well. Thanks for that. 🙂

  3. germanymarie October 26, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    I agree! Blogging is NOT a job:) ❤ Here's to decluttering your life!

  4. typefashion November 7, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    I like that quote a lot !

    xoxo

    http://www.typefashion.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

