Summer Wardrobe Clean Out

15 Aug

Closet Cleanout Aug 2011

Last week I was self-imposed crazy and productive, and it feels amazing!  Not just on the work front, but also at home.

Over the weekend, I totally cleaned out my closet to get ready for fall.  I always do this two times a year, once in February for the spring and summer seasons, and once in August for the fall and winter seasons.  I clean out what I haven’t worn or no longer like, sell what I can or exchange for trade at my favorite second-hand stores, and also find what items either need repair or alterations and get them all together.  Then from there, it’s super easy to shop for what I know I’ll need in the upcoming season, I know everything I have in my closet, plus I save money because I’m only buying what I really need to replace.

Not only did I clean out my closet, but I also immediately took care of the items I cleaned out instead of leaving them in bags all over my apartment for a few weeks until I get around to it.  As a result, I now have over $200 in credits to use at Buffalo Exchange and Crossroads Trading, all for a weekend’s work.  To also aid in me sticking to my wardrobe budget, I had set up a Smarty Pig account back in February that automatically saved money for me over the past few months specifically so I can shop to update my wardrobe.  It then goes on a refillable pre-paid Master Card which I can then take with me shopping.  I know I’ve hit my max when there’s nothing left on the card.

Yay, I’m so excited for next weekend because it’s my big shopping weekend! I usually only do two big shopping trips a year because despite the fact I love clothes and fashion, I absolutely hate going to stores.  So I look forward to these trips to get my wardrobe up to date in minimal time.  Because, you know I’m trying to be productive.

I have a few other goals to accomplish this week now that I’m on a productivity roll…

  1. Set up a regular posting schedule here on Brooklyn Bliss.  I’ve never really had one.
  2. Get re-engaged in my social media.  My poor friends think I’ve vanished from Facebook and Twitter.
  3. Work out 5 times this week.
  4. Shop for fall wardrobe items next weekend.
  5. Take 3 outfit photos this week.  I’ve been slacking lately and as a result getting sloppy in how I dress since I know it’s not going on the internet.

 

Snarf Sitting

Oh, and did I mention my husband and I are bunny sitting?  We have our friends bunny Snarf visiting us this week while she’s on a quick vacation to visit her family.  So our tiny Brooklyn apartment is currently akin to the Bronx zoo, but totally worth it because I luz animals.  Isn’t she adorbes?

One Response to “Summer Wardrobe Clean Out”

  1. m.i.t.c.h August 15, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    welcome back! Excited to see stuffs from your big shopping spree 🙂

Leave a Reply

