Auto-Focus

21 Jun
Day Seven 1- Display
{Blazer: Calvin Klein (thrifted); Tee: dollar store find; Skirt: Ecoture (gift from husband); Platforms: Cynthia Rowley (thrifted); Sunglasses: Husband’s (from a street fair); Cuff: H&M}

I’ve been learning a lot recently about taking my own outfit photos. My hubby will occasionally help out with taking my pictures but I always think I look kind of awkward when he takes them. Strange thing is I feel much more natural posing and taking photos on a tripod with a wireless release, which probably looks weirder to folks passing by in my busy neighborhood than my husband taking photos of me.

I went to art school and photography was one of my favorite classes, and I knew my way around a DSLR pretty well. Now that I finally have a new digital one, it’s kind of like riding a bike. I’m getting used to it again.  Yesterday, I originally was kinda meh about this outfit, but after seeing how my photos were coming out totally fell in love with the outfit.  I thought “Hells yeah!  I have tons of great photos today!” while looking at the screen on my camera reviewing the images I shot while outside during the shoot.  I was way pumped up about it.

Fast forward to editing my photos later on in the evening, and I learn that all of my photos are super blurry.  Only these two were remotely clear.  So much for being a pro photog.  I forgot the most important thing when taking self portraits… set the auto-focus!  That and never trust the viewfinder screen without first zooming in to check that it’s crystal clear.  Dur!  Lesson learned.

Day Seven 2

10 Responses to “Auto-Focus”

  1. Shandi Grimsley June 21, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    I’m in love with that blazer!!! I know what you mean about focusing the camera when taking photos yourself, I mess that up all the time!

  2. Amy June 21, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    I’m so in love with that blazer! Love how you paired it with a print, too!

  3. Dani June 21, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    i know! i AWAYS screw up my photos when i shoot them myself. i love your hot pink blazer – whatta statement piece!

  4. Sarah June 22, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    Even if the focus isn’t there, the outfit is killer, miss. Can’t wait to see some more self photos in sharp relief.

  5. germanymarie June 22, 2011 at 8:07 am #

    but the outfit is great, I agree:) I’ll get you next time, auto-focus (waggling fist in air)!

    • Corrie June 22, 2011 at 8:25 am #

      Thanks everyone for the awesome compliments! *blushing*. More crystal clear outfit photos soon to come! 🙂

  6. Style Dilettante June 22, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    I absolutely LOVE that pink blazer! You are doing sooo well with the 30/30 challenge! Kepp up the good work!

    http://inherentstylela.blogspot.com/

    • Corrie June 22, 2011 at 10:23 am #

      Thanks! I went about preparing for the challenge a bit differently than last time and it appears to be working for me 🙂

  7. Abby July 1, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    I love this outfit so much! And I know what you mean about feeling more natural when someone isn’t taking your picture!

  8. Annelie July 2, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    there is a similar blazer in H&M that I have been looking at, not bought yet. I usually use the timer on my camera to take my outfit pictures, easier to pose that way 🙂

Leave a Reply

