Getting Ready To Clean

12 Feb
Our blender and juicer is standing by, ready for some serious smoothie and juicing action.

While most couples will be celebrating Valentine’s Day, my hubby and I instead will be embarking on a 3 week detox journey.  I had a few weeks back suggested to my hubs that we try Dr. Junger’s Clean Detox Program.  What better day to start a three-week cleanse than the mother of all pig out chocolate days? 

It takes a lot of produce to be this clean.

The detox we’re trying consists of us having two liquid meals a day (one in the morning and one in the evening) and a solid meal for lunch.  The liquid meals can consist of smoothies, fresh juices or soups, and our solid meals can only include ingredients approved on Dr. Jungers Elimination Diet.  Basically all the “allowed” foods are ones that are known to not cause any kind of allergies in those who ingest them.  Some of the no-no foods include gluten, soy and dairy.  The whole purpose of the cleanse is not only to rid our body of toxins, but it will also give us a fresh start in discovering which foods we may have allergies to that we’re not even aware of.  With all that in mind this weekend we pigged out on everything we knew we would not be able to eat.

My hubby’s last BLT before the detox.

Other things that are suggested throughout the program is a daily meditation practice, exercise, drinking a LOT of water (as in so much you are supposed to pee once an hour), limiting snacking, getting a massage (yes please!), as well as hot/cold water therapy. 

Everyone has different reasons for doing a detox program.  My primary goal is to hopefully clear my skin up, while my husband would like to detox from processed foods and lose a few pounds.  I’m really glad he decided to try this program with me being it’s supposed to be pretty challenging to follow through with it, though really worthwhile from those I’ve spoken to who have completed the entire program.  I have a feeling it may be a bit easier for me being vegan and eating pretty well to begin with.  My husband might have a harder time being he eats a lot more processed stuff than I do.  We’ll see how it goes.  Regardless we have each other for support.

I already have our meals ready for tomorrow, including one of my favorite meals, Beet and Quinoa Salad with Miso Sesame Dressing. Luckily one thing that makes the program easy is for your solid meals, as long as all the ingredients meet the elimination diet requirements, you can eat it.  Yum.

Our first prepared lunch for the program, Beet and Quinoa Salad with Miso Sesame Dressing.

Stay tuned for photos and updates and I move throughout the program.  Enjoy some Valentine’s Day chocolate for me.

One Response to “Getting Ready To Clean”

  1. Misty B February 16, 2011 at 4:39 am #

    I love your blog! I just awarded you the Versatile Blogger Award and gave you a shout-out on my blog! To see the post, here’s my link…

    http://unpretentiousteacher.com/2011/02/15/a-list-of-versatile-bloggers-i-think-are-pretty-cool/

Leave a Reply

