My New Toy

7 Feb

I am so freaking excited. 

After much research and deliberation, I finally decided to purchase a DSLR camera.

I had a DSLR several years ago when they first came out.  When I was in college I did a ton of photography work using actual film before the whole photography world went digital.  My parents had gotten a DSLR to use to document the building of their new house, and me being the only person who really knew how to use it made me the default owner of the camera.  Unfortunately, the camera was stolen out of my parents home by the crew working there, and ever since I’ve been trying to make due with a point and shoot camera. 

No matter which way you put it though, there’s no way to compare the two.  I love being able to control where I have the lens focus, how much light is let into the lens, and all the other features of the DSLR.  I’m so excited to start using the camera to not only document my outfits (I also picked up a proper tripod and remote shutter release to do so) but also just general day-to-day life, as well as more artistic projects.

I played around with the camera a bit today taking photos around the apartment, and of my little ham of a dog Portia.  My point and shoot camera would make her look like this fuzzy black blob.  Look at this face how adorable is this? 

Though I went ahead and stocked up on accessories at the camera store, I’m really glad I decided to forgo purchasing a camera bag.  After a quick search on the internet, I’ve found there are so many fashionable camera bags on the market nowadays!  This one below is the one I have my eye on.  Can you believe this sexy bag is not only a camera bag, but also vegan?

THEIT Camera Bag

What’s your preference?  Are you a DSLR junkie or a point and shooter?

7 Responses to “My New Toy”

  1. Fire Crystals February 7, 2011 at 6:40 am #

    I prefer a Point and Shoot camera because of the relative ease to carry it around. When a photo moment strikes you, you whip up the camera, and voila! You have the pic in your digital memory forever. Whereas, with a DSLR, its bulky, cumbersome to carry around and though you do get superb photographs, only a real SLR-aficionado would go through the trouble of taking pics with it.
    But I do think that the pics you shot are excellent. Keep up the good work.

    Cheers!

  2. germanymarie February 7, 2011 at 8:00 am #

    they both have their merits. I really love the simplicity of digital cameras, but I also really love the happy mistakes that come from Film. I love to see grain and grit on the negatives. I’ve shot a few things here with different cameras (2 manual, 2 digital), and some scenes need the digital, while others beg for film. Can’t wait to see what you do with the DSLR!

  3. vanimator February 7, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Wow! amazing picture quality and camera is worth the purchase.
    Thanks for the share.

    Vanimator
    http://www.vanimator.com

  4. Deletrius July 6, 2011 at 1:06 am #

    I recently got a DSLR for graduation, and I’ve fallen completely in love with it. I’m Canon all the way. I have a point and shoot and my new Rebel t2i. I love them both, but I’m not gonna lie. I feel so much more sophisticated and artistic with a DSLR in hand. Love the shoes.

    • Corrie July 6, 2011 at 9:59 am #

      Same here. I love my DSLR. I bought a camera bag that looks like a purse specifically so I can carry it everywhere with me!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Have You Ever Wanted Something? « Mike's Take… - March 9, 2011

    […] My New Toy (brooklynbliss.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Gray Days « Brooklyn Bliss - March 9, 2011

    […] so excited to finally post an outfit post taken with my new DSLR!  It’s finally light enough out in the morning when I get ready for work that I can duck […]

Leave a Reply

