The Roast

2 Dec


{Jacket: stoop sale find; Blouse: Macy’s INC; Pencil Skirt: Michael Kors, thrifted; Tights: Uniqlo; Shoes: Qupid; Cuff: My Mom’s}

Today was the best day to start off the 30 for 30 challenge.

My hubby had scored tickets to the Friar’s Roast of Quentin Tarantino a while ago and today was finally the day of the big event.  I took the day off from work and we donned our “business casual” best and got our buts on over to the Mid-Town Hilton just in time to do some serious people watching prior to the event.

At our table we had some casual conversations with our table mates, and then we recognized the voice of one of them to be Jackie “The Jokeman” Martling (who was really cool).  We enjoyed a nice luncheon, including a delicious vegan pasta primavera while the celebrities at the event “roasted” Quentin.  As you can imagine there were a many a joke on Uma Thurman being his “muse” and his foot fetish.

After the event wrapped up, while waiting on line to grab my coat at the coat check, Harvey Kietel was spotted behind me.  The hubby managed to snap a photo just in time before he walked off.  Other celebs we spotted outside the event included Whitney Cummings, Kathy Griffin, Steve Buscemi and Richard Beltzer.

After grabbing our coats and our gift bags, we sat at the hotel bar and I ordered the worst cocktail I’ve ever had.  Seriously, grossest ever.  Looks in the photo below are deceiving, it was vile. 

All this and I was still home before 5 pm.  It was a great break in my normal workday routine and not an opportunity I’ll probably get again.  Unless somewhere out there wants to invite me to the next roast, which I doubt.

Leave a Reply

