Vegan Weekender Bags

22 Oct

I have to travel a lot for work.  It’s not something I like to do, but it’s necessary and luckily it’s not a regular thing but more of a seasonal thing.  My road work can include flying to other cities for business meetings or doing long road trips and teaching seminars.

My hubby and I have also within the past few months have gone on a few weekend trips, which has been great.  It’s fun to explore a city just for a day or two and then return home.  It’s like a mini-vacation, which is great for my psyche considering the hours I work.  Sometimes a small break from Brooklyn is all I need to stay sane.

I’m super organized when it comes to traveling and with the holiday’s coming up soon as well as some business travel that must be done in December and January, I’m already starting to think about what needs to be done prior to.  You can see my last OCD business trip packing frenzy by clicking here.

My last weekend trip with my husband I realized we really don’t have a good “weekender” bag.  We have my carry-on rolling suitcase I use for extended business trips, but sometimes that’s too much for a quick weekend trip where only a change or two of clothes is needed.  It’s also too much for a quick overnight business trip as well.  I could easily get away with a smaller duffel bag and a purse.  I’m one of those rare women who actually packs light.  It’s funny, on many of the business trips I go on (in my male dominated industry) I actually pack less than the men.

Surprisingly enough, there are a lot more vegan weekender bag options out there than I had thought.  Here’s what I found quick on a quick Shopstyle search.  The bag on the bottom right is a Rachael Zoe for QVC bag I had seen a while ago and really liked.  All in all, I don’t think I could go wrong with any of these options.  I’m leaning towards one of the bottom three.  Which one do you think I should go with?

 

What sort of bag/luggage do you pack your items for a short, 1-2 day trip in?

6 Responses to “Vegan Weekender Bags”

  1. Jill - Vegan Backpacker October 30, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    Hey Corrie, great post! Those are super cute weekender bags. I liked the idea so much, I included a link to your blog in my October roundup of vegan travel news. Thanks 🙂

  2. Vegan Snorkeler October 31, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    I’m a sucker for leopard print, so I vote you go for that one. I use a plain black canvas tote bag from Dakine (http://www.dakine.com/girls/travel/luggage-amp-gear-bags/). I find that surf company’s have cute travel bags that are accidentally vegan.

    Thanks for the vegan travel post!

    • Corrie November 1, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

      Dakine has some cute stuff, thanks for sharing! I’m also leaning towards the leopard one… but we’ll see which one I end up going with being I like them all 🙂

  3. Nikol November 3, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    Take a look at the Lesportsac weekenders. They come in 3 sizes and both fun and conservative prints. I take the medium weekender on 3 day/2 night trips and the larger weekender on 5 day trips. As a bonus, you can throw one in the washing machine if it gets dirty.

    • Corrie November 3, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

      Thanks for the tip! I’ll check those out prior to deciding on which weekender I should get. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vegan Tips & Trips: October - Vegan Backpacker - October 29, 2010

    […] Whether your going on a short business trip or visiting friends for the weekend, why not pack your essentials in a stylish and vegan-friendly travel bag? Corrie from Brooklyn Bliss, has created a short list of vegan weekender bags. […]

Leave a Reply

