Pass Out in 20

21 Oct

Earlier in the week this week I had my first session with my new personal trainer.  I totally knew I was in for it when I was 5 minutes late (due to a doctor’s appointment), frantically getting changed in the locker room, and the trainer busted in yelling “Are you Corrie?  Come on let’s go I have another session after you!!”.  Ooops.

My trainer was notified about my marathon history by the owner of the gym, and while having me jump rope for 5 minutes to warm up had mentioned it was a good sign for me I had run marathons in the past that I should be able to rebuild my endurance back pretty quickly.  Considering I wanted to pass out after jumping rope for only a minute, I have my doubts but I trust her nonetheless.

She then had me do the most simple yet kick ass routine I’ve ever done.  It took around 20 minutes and I wanted to pass out/throw up/die after.

  • 10 Kettlebell Lateral Swings
  • 10 Jumping Jacks
  • 10 Burpees.  I’ve run marathons and have never felt pain like a burpee.
  • Jump Rope for 1 minute (trainer let me skip this being I was so out of breath but I have to build up to it during the week)

To complete the routine, after you finish a set, for the next set you drop a rep.  So for example, the first set you do 10 of each.  The next set 9 of each.  Then 8 of each, etc.  You continue all the way until you only do 1 of each, and then you’re finished.

The great part about this workout is it only takes 20 minutes and I have no excuse not to fit it into my schedule.  The bad part is I wanted to die I was so tired doing it.  I was given instructions to do this each workout this week and to email her with my progress so she knows I’m doing it.

Looks like I have my work cut out for me.

One Response to “Pass Out in 20”

  1. Gina October 21, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    Like me with my email students, I love that she’s going to force you to be accountable while you’re away. I know it’ll hurt at first, but I think the quick progress you’ll see will be motivation enough. Just don’t push too too hard while you’re fixing the deficiency, ok? Slow starts won’t kill you! I’m glad you’re excited about this, I’m excited for you!!!

    ~g.

Leave a Reply

