Missing in Action

14 Oct

I can’t believe how totally missing in action I’ve been from blogging and for all things social media for that matter.  Yuck.

I’ve been crazy busy at work lately, and on top of it exhausted.  Literally.  Actually, I’ve been physically exhausted since late July.  After visiting several different doctors I’ve finally been given the diagnosis that I’m anemic, but more testing is still needed to determine the source of the anemia.  While most people might automatically assume my anemia is due to my veganism, truth is my mother is also anemic so it very well is most likely genetic.

Overall I’ve been incredibly frustrated that I’ve been so tired.  My workload at my job has actually decreased a bit due to me recently hiring an assistant, and yet I’m even more tired now than I was prior to.  I also used to be an avid fitness buff, running marathons and working out 5 days a week and stuff.  Now I get seriously winded just walking around and despite my best efforts have not been able to work out consistently.  My husband and I visited several art museums over our anniversary trip and I had to constantly sit down on the benches inbetween pieces they have for (old) people to sit on. 

I’ve been attempting to manage it the best I can to date.  Another thing that would frustrate me is after work just wanting to go to sleep but having to make dinner.  Keep in mind, I LOVE to cook.  It’s a passion of mine.  But just the thought of the cooking and dishes and whatever else involved and knowing I would only really just get to sit down at the end of the day at 8 pm when my day starts at 6 am would totally stress me out.  The hubby and I have been spending a small fortune on takeout, which isn’t good either.  To solve the issue this past weekend, after picking up my CSA share for the week I kinda went crazy and cooked, packaged individually and froze enough meals for the hubby and I to last us the next two weeks.  It took a few hours, but has saved me hours and hours during the week I can now use to just rest.  So far this week it’s been tremendously helpful for both my physical and mental well-being.

What I am happy about is that at least my doctors have figured out what’s at the root of the problem, and now all I have to do is wait for some additional testing and my treatment plan.  I’m also happy knowing my fatigue wasn’t just a mental thing (which I had feared). 

I’ve attempted to take some outfit photos and work on some other posts lately, but either I look way too tired and forced in my photos or I’m just too tired after work to put the posts together, so I’ve just been forgoing blogging altogether.  I’m of the belief if you don’t have decent content worth posting, not to post just anything at all.  It’s not worth sharing if it’s crap.  I do have a ton of photos from my anniversary weekend to post and will get those up soon.

I’m very much looking forward to this weekend, even though it’ll be a busy one.  Tomorrow evening the hubby and I are attending the Dead Kennedy’s concert and on Saturday my gal pal Gina is coming to visit all the way from Germany.  Oh, and I can’t forget Rasputina (one of my favorite bands ever) is playing at the Knitting Factory not to far from my apartment, so I’m going to hit that up on Saturday as well.  So two concerts and a friend visit all in one weekend.

3 Responses to “Missing in Action”

  1. Aida October 18, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    I had a similar problem with tiredness as well, and was diagnosed with Hypothyroidism. Not saying that that’s what you’ve got, just another thing that can cause severe physical exhaustion (I was sleeping 15+ hours and felt like I had only gotten 4 and couldn’t get myself to do ANYthing). Hope you get it figured out!

    • Corrie October 19, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

      My mother has hypothyroidism, so initally that’s what we had thought it was and had tested for it. So we know for sure that’s not it. My blood work came back all weird. All of my cell counts, red, white and platelettes were all down. According to my doc this is odd. So I’m going for another test today or tomorrow to see if we get the same results or if it was a testing error. If it’s the same, he’s sending me to a hemotologist. I’ll know more in about a week.

      I hope you feel better since your diagnosis!! 🙂

      • Aida October 20, 2010 at 11:21 pm #

        That sounds like Quite The Odd Thing, hope you get it all sorted out! Having gone from super fatigued back to “fairly normal” I can tell you once you find it, and hopefully fix it, you’ll be so very happy.

Leave a Reply

