Jailhouse Rock

24 Sep

I found this dress back in during my staycation in June at Beacon’s Closet.  It was an XL, and I usually wear a small to medium.  I’ve never been one to have stuff altered, but the price of this dress was priced right as well as body-con, which I know works well on me so I figured why not give a tailor a try?

After my Fall 2010 closet clean out I had a whole bunch of items I found that either needed repairing or altering, so I decided to search Yelp to find a good tailor in my area.  I settled on Tara, the Williamsburg Seamster based on her awesome reviews, and reached out and contacted her.  Tara actually came to my home, pinned the items I wanted altered there, brought them to her studio and then delivered them back to me a few weeks later. 

I’m totally in love with the results!  I now understand why fashionista’s say to find a tailor and make them your best friend.  It makes such an amazing difference in how you look in your clothing.  I have a whole bunch of items I’ll be showcasing in the next few weeks, which I’m super excited about.  It’s almost like I have a whole new wardrobe!

I’m heading away to the country for the weekend with the hubby and puppy.  I could use a little R&R.  Posts on that soon to come.

Do you alter your clothing?  Was it as much a revelation for you the first time you tried on an altered piece as it was for me?

What I’m Wearing:
Faux Leather Moto Jacket: Target
Dress: Beacon’s Closet
Shoes: Qupid

One Response to “Jailhouse Rock”

  1. Gina September 25, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    I love it!
    You just reminded me, I need to upload some photos. Here I was thinking I was done for the night. I can’t wait to see the rest of your alterations!!! It seems like we’re thinking alike: I’ve decided to see if any of my ‘larger days’ clothes can be altered down, because I love them too much to part with them. I’ve also made friends with a nice alterations place and I think they(he)’ll be able to help me with everything.

Leave a Reply

