Brooklyn Cyclone

17 Sep

A downed tree on my route to/from work. I missed this by about 2 minutes!

Soooooo….

Long time no blog.  It’s been a crazy week or so.  Lots of late hours at the office, doctor’s appointments (I’m fine, don’t worry!) and outfits that just haven’t photographed well.  I have been taking pictures all along I just haven’t had time to post the stuff that actually came out half way decent.

So you may or may not have heard about the Brooklyn tornado last week. Actually I should say tornadoes, two were confirmed as touching ground.  And lucky me I was right in the middle of one of them.

Story goes like this:

I actually get out of work at a decent hour for a change.  I was out in my car driving at 5:10 pm (I usually leave anywhere between 5:30 and 6).  My route goes from the neighborhoods of Canarsie, through Bushwick and eventually lands home in Williamsburg.  Towards the end of my route in Bushwick, suddenly the sky, almost out of nowhere, turns black.  Like night-time black.  I remember thinking to myself  “Oh, wow.  That doesn’t look too good”.

So I continue along my merry way, and the skys open up and there’s a torrential downpour.  The rain was so bad I couldn’t see the hood of my car, so I pulled over.  That’s when the golf ball size hail started.  Starting to get a bit curious about the insane weather, I pull out my iPhone to check my Weather Channel App.  What does it say?

Tornado Warning: Brooklyn.  Seen in Park Slope

Great!

I was a ways away from Park Slope but seriously, a tornado in Brooklyn?  No way!

That’s when the wind started.  It started bending trees like I’ve never seen before.  I could even feel the wind somewhat shimmy the rear end of my car. 

I started to get scared.  My husband calls me and I’m all freaking out. 

 Then just as I start to really freak out, it’s over.  The rain stops, the clouds clear.  It’s done.  Whew what a relief.  So I continue on home and go about my day.

I got a real wake up call the following morning on my way to work.  I pass the intersection where I pulled over, and not even a block past that intersection on that route, it looks like a war zone.  A freaking Sunoco gas station sign, the large ones that are posted really high on a pole?  It was on the ground in the middle of the gas pumps.  Awnings were destroyed everywhere.  Streets blocked off.  Insane.  The photo above is of a 4 story tall tree that was totally uprooted and fallen over on the building.  I still today can not believe how narrowly I missed being in the middle of that.  We’re talking just a few blocks.  They later confirmed there was a second tornado that touched down, and I believe that was it.

I picked a good day to leave the office on time.

One Response to “Brooklyn Cyclone”

  1. dani September 23, 2010 at 2:34 am #

    wow is that nuts.. in brooklyn?? go figure.

    love the photos on your blog.

Leave a Reply

