Pesto (Pasta)

19 Aug

I’m a pretty avid cook and love to experiment in the kitchen.  I’ve had a fun summer so far experimenting with new types of produce since the hubby and I became members of the Greenpoint-Williamsburg CSA (CSA stands for community sponsored agriculture for anyone who may not know).  Every other Saturday, I head down to the farmer’s market to pick up my “share” of the crops.  This last pickup we had heirloom tomatoes and even white peppers! Yum!

One thing I hate is wasting produce, and something I’ve found that works great for “spent”, wilty greens is creating a pesto with them.  This works with just about any type of greens or herbs, and I’ve even done a version with endamame as well.  In this specific version I used leftover baby spinach and my farm share basil that didn’t really hold up well enough to use by the second day I had it.

PESTO
Makes about 1 cup of Pesto

Ingredients:

  • About two cups of greens
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon chopped garlic
  • 1/4 cup walnuts (or whatever nuts you have on hand)
  • 1 tablespoon nutritional yeast (for vegan version, or you could use parmesan)
  • salt and pepper

Instructions:

  1. Add greens and garlic to food processor and process until finely chopped. 
  2. Then add a steady stream of olive oil and process until the mixture smooth. 
  3. Add the garlic, walnuts, nutritional yeast (or cheese) and process.  Then salt and pepper to taste.  Add more olive oil if smoother consistency is desired.

The pesto can be stored in your fridge for up to a week and can be used as either a condiment on toast or sandwiches, a pasta sauce or even a marinade for veggies and proteins. 

For this post I made a pasta using this pesto to dress the cooked pasta.  I then added some chopped, heirloom tomatoes and topped off with some vegan parmesan.  A super easy and simple weeknight supper.

Stay tuned later this week when I post my recipe for Pesto Tofu and Roasted Vegetables.

One Response to “Pesto (Pasta)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pesto Tofu with Roasted Vegetables « Brooklyn Bliss - August 22, 2010

    […] 1/2 cup pesto (either jarred or from scratch, see my recipe here) […]

Leave a Reply

