Fall 2010 Closet Cleanout

18 Aug

Closet Before the Cleanout- Pretty Scary!

I had read a great blog post a while’s back about the author’s method for clothing shopping.  It was a budget living blog and her method made a ton of sense to me, which is why I decided to try it out the next “change of seasons” here in NYC. 

Essentially all it really entails is cleaning out your closet twice a year.  Once for the Fall/Winter season and again for the Spring Summer season.  You go through your closet and sort out items you don’t like anymore or are damaged.   I went ahead and sorted items as follows:

  • Items to sell- I’ve made the decision to get rid of anything that’s leather in my closet to put me on track to my Half-Year Resolution goal.  I have a huge variety of leather purses (many of which are designer, like Louis Vuitton), that I’m planning on selling via eBay and craigslist.  That should also give me some extra cash to do some fall shopping with.  As far as clothes and my leather shoes go,  I’m going to bring them to either Beacon’s Closet or Buffalo Exchange. Whatever doesn’t sell will then go in the…
  • Items to donate- All these go straight to the Salvation Army.
  • Items to have repaired/altered- These are items I still love that maybe have a few rips/tears or might not fit me correctly now due to fluctuations in weight, etc.

My piles from left to right: to repair/alter, to donate and to sell.

While doing this sort through, it’s then easy to take inventory of the items you need for the following season so you can shop accordingly and not get a bunch of duplicate items you may not need.  Here’s my wish list based on both Fall/Winter upcoming trends, as well as to replace what I got rid of in the closet sweep:

  • Camel Color Winter Coat
  • Faux Fur Coat- To wear to more formal events w/dresses, etc. Purchased, see this post.
  • Sweaters- big chunky ones and lightweight ones to layer
  • Thigh High Boots?- debating this one.
  • Ankle Booties
  • Black Knit Top/Turtleneck
  • Chambray Shirt Purchased
  • Black Mavi Skinny Jeans Purchased
  • Fall/Winter Purse Option
  • Drapey Tee-Shirts
  • Nice Winter PJ’s
  • Slippers
  • Maxi Skirt

A beautifully cleaned out closet.

Do you have a method you use to clean out your closet or shop?  Or am I the only OCD person out there?

3 Responses to “Fall 2010 Closet Cleanout”

  1. Gina August 18, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    you are not the only one with OCD.
    Due to recent weight fluctuations and a massive overseas schlep, I got rid of over half of my clothes in October, and have continued to shed them as I shed the pounds. I’ve given up on saving things until they may fit me again and am going the full-on ‘donate’ route, except for the things I know I can consign. I think it’s important to purge at least twice a year, not only to make room for new things but also to get rid of things that we maybe save for too long.

    My fall wardrobe is pretty well built since I moved here in the fall and lost all of the weight in the first two months, but there are definitely things I’ll be replacing now that I am more comfortable with the smaller body 🙂

    great post! I’m super excited about those mavi’s and also the faux fur coat. And I’m keeping the purple top for another year at least 😉

  2. Trishna August 23, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    I have been going through your blog and I really like it. I love how you’ve taken the time and effort to look for similar, vegan options for the items you love. Not only those items are vegan but they definitely are more wallet friendly.
    I recently went through a closet clean out for kind of a similar reason, I have decided to go polyester free in my wardrobe and after the clean-out it really feels very refreshing.
    I’ll definitely keep up with your posts and will try to catch upon the ones I have missed. Please so stay in touch and drop by from time to time on my blog.

    Love from Toronto, Canada

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Jailhouse Rock « Brooklyn Bliss - September 24, 2010

    […] my Fall 2010 closet clean out I had a whole bunch of items I found that either needed repairing or altering, so I decided to […]

Leave a Reply

