M.I.A.

26 Jul
On the ferry heading to Governors Island

For my birthday my awesome hubby got me tickets to the Hard NYC Music Festival on Governor’s Island. I’m a big (or I should say, was a big) fan of M.I.A. who was headlining the show, so I was mad excited to go.

I don’t want to bore you with the details of the show, but let’s say it was awesome yet disappointing at the same time. Click here for a review and photos of the show. All the opening acts totally rocked the stage, and will be added to my “to-download soon” list. Another cool coo-inky-dink is of the thousands of concert goers who attended, who do I run into on my way to the porta potty but my BFF! She attended last-minute and bought her ticket on-site, totally forgetting my hubs got me tickets for my birthday. Small freaking world!
M.I.A. was pretty horrible. Besides getting onstage later than scheduled, the sound quality was awful. It sounded like Maya was underwater on reverb and I couldn’t make out what the hell song it was she was performing. Hubby and I stayed up front for about 4 songs or so and then figured maybe it was just where we were located so moved back in the field a bit. Sounded just as crappy. So we along with about 1,000 or so other people decided to leave early. We left just in time too as soon as we got on the ferry it started pouring rain.

Overall it was still a great birthday outing and I had a great time.

Have you ever been to a concert and been disappointed in the main act, but the openers rocked the house?

What I’m Wearing:

Sunglasses: Love Brigade
Tank: Love Brigade- birthday gift from the hubby
Shorts: Old Navy
Gladiator Wedge Sandals: DSW gift from BFF
Necklaces: One’s old and from high school and the other was a gift my hubby bought me in Jamaica while on our honeymoon.

3 Responses to “M.I.A.”

  1. Gina July 26, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    I was pretty disappointed in Phoenix when I saw them live, but I think it was because I’d already heard their live CD. They were not very entertaining, although they sounded good. I prefer to see performers with ENERGY live.

    And once I tried to see Echo and the Bunnymen, but Boozy McFrontman was such a hammered wreck that he fell over and then bitched and walked offstage before even starting. Total lamesauce for being headliners.

  2. Tinypants July 26, 2010 at 11:28 pm #

    wooO! your hubby has impeccable taste 😉

    • Corrie July 27, 2010 at 12:54 am #

      @tinypants- My hubby does have impeccable taste! 🙂 How did you locate my post so quick? I just posted it today. Love your store so many great items!

      @Gina- I feel so much better knowing I’m not the only one who’s been disappointed at the headlining act at a show I’ve been looking forward to attending. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

