Packing

17 Jul

Sooooo I’ve got to pack. I’ve got two trips lined up between tomorrow and Thursday of next week. Tomorrow morning through Sunday evening I’ll be heading to Philadelphia to visit my hubby’s family, and then early Monday morning I fly out to get this…. Idaho. I know random but true.

It’s easy to pack for an overnight trip. Just throw whatever comes to mind in your bag and if you forget something, no biggie being you’ll be home the next day. The Idaho trip for me is a bit more complicated though. It’s technically a business trip and I’ll be required to not only attend meetings, but…

  • Golf- which I’ve never done before
  • Fish- which I have mixed feelings about being vegan and all
  • Go out for Dinner- which we all know I have no problems with eating, though I do worry being a vegan dining in Idaho may be challenging.

I also have to fit everything in my tiny “work” carry-on for the plane. I hate checking bags I just don’t have the patience to sit and wait for my bag when I arrive at the destination. Plus why not travel light if you can, right?

Over the years I’ve developed a pretty decent organizational system when it comes to planning on what to bring on a trip. It all starts with me first figuring out the itinerary for the trip, and what sort of attire will be needed for each activity. Then I plan an outfit for each activity and try to use the same items multiple times to create different looks and uses, thus limiting the amount of crap I have to pack.

Being I’ve already had an action packed week at work this week, I already compiled my outfit list. Here’s what I came up with:

PLANNED OUTFITS:

Day One: Travel/ Headquarters Tour/ Meeting/ Travel to Resort and Dinner

All Day:

  • Jeggings
  • Coral Tunic Shirt
  • Bronze Disc Earrings
  • Clogs
  • Zebra Tote Bag
  • Big Sunglasses
  • Straw Fedora (may or may not actually wear it, might just carry it)

Day Two: Meetings, Golf & Evening Dinner

Morning Meeting & Golf:

  • White Short-Sleeved Button Down or Golf Shirt
  • Black Bermuda Shorts
  • Black/Tan Flip Flops
  • New Golf Shoes
  • New Golf Glove
  • Straw Fedora Hat
  • Aviators
  • Scarf
  • White Purse

Dinner:

  • Gray Sweater Dress
  • Bronze Disc Earrings
  • Brown Belt
  • Denim Jacket
  • Clogs
  • White Purse

Day Three: Fishing & Evening Dinner

Fishing:

  • Black Bermuda Shorts
  • Plain White V Neck Tee
  • Denim Jacket
  • Zebra Belt
  • Straw Fedora
  • Aviators
  • Black/Tan Flip Flops

Dinner:

  • Black Bermuda Shorts
  • White Short Sleeve Button Down
  • Zebra Belt
  • Clogs
  • White Purse

Day Four: Travel Home

All Day:

  • White Short Sleve Button Down
  • Brown Belt
  • Jeggings
  • Big Sunglasses
  • Clogs
  • Disc Earrings
  • Zebra Tote Bag

Now from there, it’s easy to go ahead and make your packing list. I’m totally OCD and like to account for everything I bring with me, so I’ll usually divide up my list and include what I’m wearing that day seperately, along with whatever I pack in each bag (carry-on and tote bag). I also keep all of my lists digitally on my iPhone, so what I’ll usually do while packing is mark the items with an asterix when it goes in the suitcase. Then when my trip is over and I’m on my way home, when the items go back in the suitcase I remove the asterix. That way everything I accounted for on the way there is back in the suitcase and nothing gets left at the hotel by accident.

Here’s my packing list I came up with using the above outfit ideas as a guideline.

PACKING LIST:

Wearing Travel Day One:

  • Jeggings
  • Coral Tunic
  • Underwear
  • White Bra
  • Bronze Disc Earrings
  • Clogs
  • Straw Fedora

In Zebra Tote Bag:

  • Wallet
  • Travel Info Folder
  • Notebook (for my meetings)
  • Pens
  • Cell Phone/Charger/Headphones
  • Big Sunglasses
  • Book/Magazines
  • Travel Pillow
  • Gray Cardigan (in case it’s cold on the plane)
  • Empty Water Bottle (fill it once you pass security)
  • Packed Lunch- being vegan they never have anything for me to eat and this is a long flight.

Suitcase:

  • White Roll Up Button Down
  • Black Bermuda Shorts
  • New Golf Shoes
  • New Golf Glove
  • Aviators
  • Scarf
  • White Purse
  • Gray Sweater Dress
  • Brown Belt
  • Denim Jacket
  • Plain White V Neck Tee
  • Zebra Belt
  • Black/Tan Flip Flops
  • Golf Shirt- though I probably will just wear the button down, I hate polo shirts
  • Brown Belt
  • 5 pairs underwear
  • Black/Strapless Bras
  • 3 pairs socks
  • PJ’s
  • Toiletry Bag
  • Hair Towel
  • Round Brush
  • Straightening Iron
  • Makeup Bag

So that’s my system. It works for me. I’m gonna try to post while on my trip being I’d love to be able to record visually how everything comes together, so we’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

